A Letter from the Director

Dear guests,

Jinsha Site Museum is located in urban Chengdu, and is considered as a significant archeological discovery on ancient Shu culture. It is established on the original place for site museum especially for the protection and study of ancient Shu civilization. It covers an area of about 300,000 ㎡, which consists of excavation hall, exhibition hall, relic’s preservation center, culture exchange center, and landscape area etc., presenting us the unique ancient Shu Culture differing from the cultures of central plain of Yellow River and other world cultures as well. It has been opened to the public officially since April 16th, 2007. So far, millions of people have visited this museum. 


The coverage of excavation hall is 7,588 ㎡. Up to now, the discovery of Jinsha is one of the completely preserved ancient sites with the longest history and richest burial artifacts. The exhibition hall covers an area of overall 16,200 ㎡ with five exhibition rooms respectively as Primitive Homeland, King Palace at a Glance, Immortal Heaven and Earth, Peak of Perfection, and Looking into Jinsha. Ten thousand pieces of treasures are exhibited in the museum, including 364 first-level national cultural relics, 311 second-level ones, and 319 third-level ones. In August 2005, the Sun and Immortal Bird pattern was selected as the emblem for Chinese Cultural Heritage. In December 2012, the pattern was selected as the logo of Chengdu city. In January 2009, Jinsha Site Museum was elected as National 4A level Scenic Spot; in November, the permanent exhibition Step into Jinsha won the Top Ten Excellent Exhibition Awards in 2007-2008. In October 2010, Jinsha Site was certified as the first batch of National Archeological Site Park. On behalf of typical history scenic spot, Jinsha Site has become an important place for the public to learn the history of Chengdu.


This official website of Jinsha Site Museum extends its social function and serves as a great platform for us to contact with visitors through time and space. As a good supplement of museum entity, we will make full use of this platform to promote communication between museum and the visitors. Meanwhile, we sincerely invite netizens to come to our museum to physically experience the charm of its architecture that features simplicity and solemn, the wonderful exhibition that is equipped with the modern technology, as well as the interesting stories that our friendly guides tell. In short, we believe that you will have a good journey here that not only deepens your understanding of the intelligence of ancient ancestors, but also enrich your appreciation of the fascinating history of Chengdu.


Yours sincerely,  

Wang Yi

President of Chengdu Jinsha Site Museum

馆长致辞

尊敬的各位游客:

       金沙遗址博物馆位于成都市区,是一座在古蜀文明重要考古发现——金沙遗址原址上兴建的遗址类博物馆。博物馆占地面积456亩,由遗迹馆、陈列馆、游客中心、文物保护与修复中心、金沙文化交流中心、园林区等构成,展示了一种独特的、不同于中国古代黄河流域文明以及世界其他古代文明的古蜀文明。2007年4月16日,金沙遗址博物馆正式对外开放,已接待中外游客数百万人次。

        其中,遗迹馆建筑面积达7588平方米,是中国迄今发现的延续时间最长、保存最完好、祭祀礼器埋藏最丰富的古代遗存。

        陈列馆建筑面积为16200平方米,由远古家园、王都剪影、天地不绝、千载遗珍、解读金沙等5个展厅组成。金沙遗址博物馆现有文物藏品万余件,其中已鉴定的一级文物364件、二级文物311件、三级文物319件。2005年8月,金沙“太阳神鸟”金饰图案被国家文物局公布为中国文化遗产标志2011年12月,又被确定为成都市城市形象标识的核心图案。2009年1月,金沙遗址博物馆被评为国家AAAA级旅游景区, 同年11月,常设展览《走进金沙》获第八届(2007-2008年度)全国博物馆十大陈列展陈精品奖,2010年10月,金沙遗址博物馆被评为我国首批国家考古遗址公园。成都金沙遗址博物馆已成为代表四川成都悠久历史的标志性景观,也是广大市民游客接受文化熏陶的重要场所。

        金沙遗址博物馆网站作为金沙遗址博物馆的官方网站,是金沙遗址博物馆社会功能的网上延伸,是我们跨地域时空在网络空间与广大市民游客接触的又一重要平台。作为实体博物馆的有益补充,我们将利用好这一平台,加强与公众的联系和沟通。同时,我们诚挚邀请各位网友亲临金沙遗址博物馆,现场领略博物馆简洁、大方,富有天圆地方神韵的建筑,感受现代科技手段在展陈方面的运用,聆听讲解员对金沙故事的娓娓道来。我们深信,当您置身金沙遗址,将对古蜀先民的智慧赞叹不已,对金沙文化的源远流长赞赏有加。



成都金沙遗址博物馆现任馆长 王毅